TL;DR
Get backup power and energy gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Hitachi launched its Air365 Max R32 variable refrigerant flow system at the Chillventa trade show in Germany. The range includes standard Max and high-efficiency Max Pro models, with stated capacities of 5hp to 54hp and factory-integrated refrigerant safety features.
Hitachi launched its Air365 Max R32 variable refrigerant flow (VRF) system at the Chillventa trade show in Germany, introducing standard Max and high-efficiency Max Pro models for commercial projects. The range spans 5hp to 54hp (14kW to 150kW) and includes a factory-integrated refrigerant safety concept, according to industry publication Cooling Post.
Cooling Post reported that the two models have stated efficiencies of up to 8.97 SEER and 5.01 SCOP. These are maximum figures reported for the product range; the source does not specify which model or operating conditions correspond to each figure. The systems use Hitachi’s next-generation scroll inverter compressor with vapour injection technology. Hitachi says this enables heating operation at outdoor temperatures as low as -25°C.
The R32 series comes with Hitachi’s AirSerenity safety concept as standard. The reported package includes integrated refrigerant leak-detection sensors and audible and visual remote alarms. Optional shut-off valves can isolate a leak while allowing unaffected zones to continue operating, according to the report; the valves are optional rather than standard equipment.
For installation and commissioning, the systems use NFC technology and the AirCloud Tap application. Cooling Post says installers can configure units and copy settings from a smartphone. The system also incorporates Smart Defrost, Gentle Cool and Smooth Drive Control 2.0, which the report describes as technologies intended to manage comfort, temperature stability and performance as loads vary.
R32 Options for Commercial VRF Projects
The launch adds a new R32 VRF option to Hitachi’s commercial range, covering projects that need systems sized from 14kW to 150kW. VRF systems distribute heating and cooling through multiple indoor units connected to an outdoor system, so a wide capacity range can be relevant to varied building layouts. The reported launch details give specifiers and installers an initial view of system scale and features, but do not provide enough information to compare real-world performance across buildings.
The inclusion of leak detection and remote alarms is also relevant to system planning and refrigerant safety. Optional isolation valves could allow unaffected zones to keep running during a leak event, as described by Cooling Post. Actual operation and suitability will depend on installation design and the product’s technical documentation; the source does not provide detailed safety procedures or performance results.
Smartphone-based configuration may change how installers set up and commission the equipment, while the low-temperature heating capability is aimed at operation in cold outdoor conditions. These are manufacturer product features as reported, not independent findings. Contractors and building owners will need fuller technical specifications to assess energy use, compatibility, costs and maintenance needs for a particular project.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
What Hitachi Announced at Chillventa
The launch took place at Chillventa in Germany, a trade show for refrigeration, air conditioning, ventilation and heat-pump technologies. Cooling Post’s report identifies the Air365 Max (Pro) as Hitachi’s latest VRF system for commercial projects and says it uses R32 refrigerant. It does not give a detailed launch timeline beyond linking the announcement to the event.
The product is offered in two versions: Air365 Max and the higher-efficiency Air365 Max Pro. The source reports the range’s capacity and efficiency figures but does not list model-by-model data, indoor-unit combinations, refrigerant charge limits, market availability or prices. Those details matter when determining whether a system fits a specific building or project specification.
““Launched at this week’s Chillventa show””
— Cooling Post
commercial VRF air conditioning units
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Specifications Still Awaiting Detail
The source does not state the exact launch date, when the systems will be available in individual markets, or their pricing. It also does not provide full technical datasheets, model-by-model efficiency figures, refrigerant charge details, compatible indoor-unit configurations or warranty information.
The reported SEER and SCOP figures are maximum values, but the source does not identify the specific model, test conditions or comparison basis behind them. No independent testing or measured project results are cited. It is also unclear which markets will receive the range first and whether all listed features will be offered in every market configuration.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Availability and Technical Data
Hitachi’s next practical step is to provide project-level information through regional product materials and technical documentation, including availability, pricing and model specifications. Those details would allow contractors and specifiers to compare Max and Max Pro configurations, confirm indoor-unit compatibility and assess performance for their buildings. The source does not report a date for those releases.
Until fuller documentation is available, buyers should treat the published capacity and efficiency figures as reported range specifications rather than a complete basis for project selection. Further details on AirSerenity’s optional valves and the app-based commissioning process could clarify how the features are configured and supported in each market.
smart VRF air conditioning controller
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
What is Hitachi’s Air365 Max?
It is a VRF system for commercial projects that uses R32 refrigerant. Hitachi is offering standard Air365 Max and high-efficiency Max Pro models, according to Cooling Post.
What capacities does the Air365 Max range cover?
The report lists a range of 5hp to 54hp, equivalent to approximately 14kW to 150kW. It does not provide a model-by-model capacity breakdown.
What safety features are included?
The R32 series is reported to include leak-detection sensors and audible and visual remote alarms as part of Hitachi’s AirSerenity concept. Shut-off valves that can isolate leaks are optional, not standard, according to the report.
How efficient is the new system?
Cooling Post reports maximum figures of 8.97 SEER and 5.01 SCOP. The source does not specify the relevant model or test conditions, so the figures alone do not establish expected performance in a particular building.
When will the Air365 Max be available?
The report says the range launched at Chillventa but does not give market-by-market availability dates or pricing. Those details remain unconfirmed in the supplied source.
Source: rss
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
