AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

When selecting whole house surge protectors, the primary decision revolves around matching the device’s surge current rating to your local grid stability and electrical panel type. My evaluation highlights the Square D HEPD80 as the best overall choice due to its robust 80 kA rating and seamless compatibility with Square D Homeline and QO panels, offering a balance of protection and ease of installation. For those needing high-capacity defense in storm-prone areas, the Furniqro FHSPD108S stands out with its massive 108,000 Amp rating, though it demands more panel space. Conversely, budget-conscious homeowners might find the Drizzlen Type BR 2-Pack appealing, provided they understand the risks of third-party breakers. The main tradeoff you face is between certified safety standards from major brands and the higher raw surge numbers often claimed by generic options. Continue reading for a detailed breakdown of which model fits your specific electrical infrastructure.

Prime Big Deal Days · Oct 6–7Offer from Amazon

Get backup power and energy gear delivered free — and shop member deals

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
15
compared
9
brands
Which whole house surge protector should you buy?
★ Top Pick
Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Br
Best for a Basic Type BR Panel Upgrade
Panel-mounted design provides whole-panel surge protection
See on Amazon →
Homeowners with an Eaton Type BR load center who want a matching two-pole, panel-mounted surge device and can confirm compatibility.
Eaton Type BR Two-Pole Circuit
Eaton-branded option for buyers matching a Type BR panel
View on Amazon →
Homeowners seeking a higher stated surge-current rating, load-center installation, and a visible replacement indicator for whole-home coverage.
Square D HEPD80 Whole-Home Sur
80 kA maximum current rating is higher than the 18 kA Type BR devices listed here
View on Amazon →
Owners or electricians outfitting two compatible Type BR panels, or buyers who specifically need a matching spare.
Drizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel C
Includes two panel-mounted surge devices
View on Amazon →
Homeowners with a compatible Siemens load center who want a compact plug-in device with a published per-phase rating and visible status indicators.
Siemens QSPD2A035B 35 kA Indoo
35 kA surge-current protection per phase is specified
View on Amazon →
Pros & cons at a glance
Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Br
✓ Panel-mounted design provides whole-panel surge protection
✗ Uses two branch circuit spaces that may be scarce in a full panel
Eaton Type BR Two-Pole Circuit
✓ Eaton-branded option for buyers matching a Type BR panel
✗ Product data does not provide a surge-current rating
Square D HEPD80 Whole-Home Sur
✓ 80 kA maximum current rating is higher than the 18 kA Type BR devices listed here
✗ Requires installation in a residential load center
Drizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel C
✓ Includes two panel-mounted surge devices
✗ Designed for Type BR panels only
Siemens QSPD2A035B 35 kA Indoo
✓ 35 kA surge-current protection per phase is specified
✗ Designed for compatible Siemens load centers only
Square D Homeline HOM2175SB Su
✓ Plug-on installation is designed for compatible Homeline load centers
✗ Requires two panel spaces
Furniqro FHSPD36S Whole-House
✓ Designed for 120/240V, 60 Hz systems
✗ No warranty is listed
AQOVOR Type BR Whole-Panel Cir
✓ Three devices are included for multiple installations or spares
✗ Compatible only with Type BR panels
Gloyatin HSPD-25 Whole-Home Su
✓ Type 1 SPD design
✗ The listed capacity range of 25/50/80 kA does not identify which rating applies
ABB THOMESURGEP Whole-Home Sur
✓ 36 kA surge protection capacity per phase
✗ External mounting and pigtail wiring require installation planning
Eaton CHSPT2SURGE Type 2 Whole
✓ Compatible with load centers from any manufacturer
✗ Requires connection through a dedicated circuit breaker
Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Br
✓ Three devices included for multiple compatible panel projects
✗ Uses two branch-circuit spaces per device
Gloyatin HSPD-80 Whole-Home Su
✓ Stated surge capacity of up to 80 kA
✗ No warranty is included
Drizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel C
✓ Three devices supplied in one pack
✗ Each device uses two branch-circuit spaces
Furniqro FHSPD108S Whole-Home
✓ Stated maximum current of 108,000 A
✗ Installation and troubleshooting may require an electrician familiar with surge-protector protocols

Key Takeaways

  • Third-party breakers like Drizzlen and AQOVOR pose significant insurance and safety risks because they lack UL certification for specific panel brands, potentially voiding home warranties.
  • Square D and Eaton dominate the premium segment with integrated Type 2 SPDs that fit existing breaker slots, avoiding the bulk and cost of separate panel-mounted units.
  • Higher kA ratings are not always better; installing an 80 kA unit on a home with poor grounding yields diminishing returns compared to fixing the ground first.
  • Type 1 SPDs are required for homes with exposed service entrances or long overhead lines, whereas Type 2 units suffice for underground service in urban grids.
  • Installation complexity varies wildly; plug-in or breaker-slot models can often be DIY-friendly for electricians, while hard-wired panel units strictly require professional labor.
2
Eaton Type BR Two-Pole Circuit
Best for Eaton Type BR Panel Matching
1
Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Br
Best for a Basic Type BR Panel Upgrade
3
Square D HEPD80 Whole-Home Sur
Best Higher-Capacity Pick

Our Top Whole House Surge Protectors Picks

Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective DeviceType BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective DeviceBest for a Basic Type BR Panel UpgradeBrand: DrizzlenModel: ET003Surge current: 18 kAVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Eaton Type BR Two-Pole Circuit Breaker Surge Protective DeviceEaton Type BR Two-Pole Circuit Breaker Surge Protective DeviceBest for Eaton Type BR Panel MatchingBrand: EatonModel: BRNSURGEPart number: BRSURGEVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Square D HEPD80 Whole-Home Surge Protection Device, 1-Phase, 3-Wire, 120/240V, 80 kASquare D HEPD80 Whole-Home Surge Protection Device, 1-Phase, 3-Wire, 120/240V, 80 kABest Higher-Capacity PickVoltage: 120/240VMaximum current: 80 kAPhase: 1-phaseVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Drizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 2-PackDrizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 2-PackBest Multi-Panel Type BR PackBrand: DrizzlenModel: ET003Part number: BRSURGEVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Siemens QSPD2A035B 35 kA Indoor Surge Protective DeviceSiemens QSPD2A035B 35 kA Indoor Surge Protective DeviceBest Compact Plug-In Panel OptionBrand: SiemensModel: QSPD2A035BSurge current protection: 35 kA per phaseVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Square D Homeline HOM2175SB SurgeBreaker Surge Protector, 120/240VSquare D Homeline HOM2175SB SurgeBreaker Surge Protector, 120/240VBest for Compatible Homeline PanelsModel: HOM2175SBVoltage: 120/240VSystem: Single phase, 3-wireVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Furniqro FHSPD36S Whole-House Surge Protector, 36,000 A, 120/240 VFurniqro FHSPD36S Whole-House Surge Protector, 36,000 A, 120/240 VBest Compact Indoor/Outdoor OptionModel: FHSPD36SSystem compatibility: 120/240V, 60 HzMounting: Wall mountVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
AQOVOR Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-PackAQOVOR Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-PackBest Multi-Panel Type BR PackModel: BRLSPPack count: 3Voltage: 120/240VVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Gloyatin HSPD-25 Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1 SPD, 120/240 VACGloyatin HSPD-25 Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1 SPD, 120/240 VACBest for External Type 1 MountingModel: HSPD-25Device type: Type 1 surge protective deviceVoltage: 120/240 VACVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
ABB THOMESURGEP Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1 SPD, NEMA 3RABB THOMESURGEP Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1 SPD, NEMA 3RBest Documented Universal-Mount PickModel: THOMESURGEPDevice type: Type 1 surge protective deviceProtection capacity: 36 kA per phaseVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Eaton CHSPT2SURGE Type 2 Whole-Home Surge ProtectorEaton CHSPT2SURGE Type 2 Whole-Home Surge ProtectorBest for Flexible Panel PlacementType: Type 2 surge protectorVoltage: 120/240 VACPhase: Single-phaseVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-PackType BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-PackBest Value for BR Panel ReplacementsBrand: TreaseaModel: BRSURGEPack count: 3VIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Gloyatin HSPD-80 Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1, 120/240 VACGloyatin HSPD-80 Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1, 120/240 VACBest for High Stated Surge CapacityType: Type 1 surge protective deviceVoltage: 120/240 VACSurge capacity: Up to 80 kAVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Drizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-PackDrizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-PackBest Panel-Mounted Three-PackBrand: DrizzlenModel: ET003Part number: BRSURGEVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Furniqro FHSPD108S Whole-Home Surge Protector, 108,000 A, 120/240VFurniqro FHSPD108S Whole-Home Surge Protector, 108,000 A, 120/240VBest for Compact High-Capacity InstallationModel: FHSPD108SMaximum current: 108,000 AVoltage: 120/240 VVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown

More Details on Our Top Picks

  1. Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device

    Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device

    Best for a Basic Type BR Panel Upgrade

    View Latest Price

    I’d place this Drizzlen unit on the shortlist for buyers who need a straightforward surge device for a compatible Type BR panel. Its 18 kA rating and two-pole breaker format provide a simple panel-mounted approach to whole-panel protection, without a separate enclosure. Compared with the Square D HEPD80, it has a much lower stated surge-current rating and lacks the listed LED replacement indicator, so it is the more basic choice rather than the higher-capacity option. The main fit cost is panel space: it occupies two branch circuit spaces, which may be a problem in a crowded load center. I’d also verify panel compatibility before buying; the Type BR format limits where it can be installed.

    Pros:
    • Panel-mounted design provides whole-panel surge protection
    • 18 kA surge-current rating is specified
    • Standard two-pole breaker format
    • Clearly stated use of two branch circuit spaces helps with panel planning
    Cons:
    • Uses two branch circuit spaces that may be scarce in a full panel
    • Type BR compatibility limits installation to matching panels
    • Lower stated surge-current rating than the Square D HEPD80

    Best for: Homeowners with a compatible Type BR load center, available breaker spaces, and a need for a basic panel-mounted surge device.

    Not ideal for: Owners of non-Type BR panels, full panels, or households seeking the higher stated surge-current capacity and replacement indicator listed for the Square D HEPD80.

    • Brand:Drizzlen
    • Model:ET003
    • Surge current:18 kA
    • Mounting type:Panel mount
    • Circuit breaker type:Standard
    • Number of poles:2
    • Branch circuit spaces:2
    • Pack quantity:1
    Our verdict
    “Choose this Drizzlen unit for a compatible Type BR panel when a basic 18 kA device fits your space and protection needs.”
  2. Eaton Type BR Two-Pole Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device

    Eaton Type BR Two-Pole Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device

    Best for Eaton Type BR Panel Matching

    View Latest Price

    I’d favor the Eaton when the priority is a Type BR-compatible, panel-mounted unit from the panel’s own manufacturer. Its listed 240-volt rating and two-pole design suit a residential load center, while the product data does not state a surge-current rating. That missing figure makes direct capacity comparisons harder: the Drizzlen Type BR device lists 18 kA, and the Square D HEPD80 lists 80 kA, so I wouldn’t choose the Eaton on surge capacity alone. Its strength here is fit and a simple breaker-style installation, not a documented advantage in rating or status monitoring. Buyers should confirm compatibility with their exact panel and ask an electrician about installation, since the provided details do not describe required spaces or status indicators.

    Pros:
    • Eaton-branded option for buyers matching a Type BR panel
    • Two-pole design for panel installation
    • Listed 240-volt rating
    • Light listed weight of 5.6 ounces
    Cons:
    • Product data does not provide a surge-current rating
    • No status indicator is listed in the supplied details
    • Panel compatibility should be confirmed before purchase

    Best for: Homeowners with an Eaton Type BR load center who want a matching two-pole, panel-mounted surge device and can confirm compatibility.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need a clearly stated surge-current rating, a listed replacement-status indicator, or a device for a non-Type BR panel.

    • Brand:Eaton
    • Model:BRNSURGE
    • Part number:BRSURGE
    • Voltage:240 volts
    • Mounting type:Panel mount
    • Circuit breaker type:Standard
    • Number of poles:2
    • Item weight:5.6 ounces
    Our verdict
    “Pick the Eaton for a confirmed compatible panel match, but choose a model with a published surge rating if capacity comparison is your priority.”
  3. Square D HEPD80 Whole-Home Surge Protection Device, 1-Phase, 3-Wire, 120/240V, 80 kA

    Square D HEPD80 Whole-Home Surge Protection Device, 1-Phase, 3-Wire, 120/240V, 80 kA

    Best Higher-Capacity Pick

    View Latest Price

    The Square D HEPD80 is the clearest choice in this group for buyers prioritizing a higher stated surge-current rating: its 80 kA capacity is well above the 18 kA listed for the Drizzlen Type BR devices. It installs at a residential load center, extending protection beyond the outlets served by plug-in strips to appliances and other hardwired equipment. The LED replacement indicator also gives owners a visible cue when the device needs attention, a feature not listed for the Eaton Type BR unit. The tradeoff is installation: it requires a load-center connection, and Square D says it works alongside plug-in surge strips for sensitive electronics rather than replacing them. I’d choose it for broader coverage and monitoring, not as a substitute for point-of-use protection.

    Pros:
    • 80 kA maximum current rating is higher than the 18 kA Type BR devices listed here
    • Load-center installation extends protection to hardwired appliances
    • LED indicator shows when replacement is needed
    • Specified for 120/240V, single-phase, three-wire service
    Cons:
    • Requires installation in a residential load center
    • Sensitive electronics may still need plug-in surge strips
    • The supplied product data does not specify branch-space requirements

    Best for: Homeowners seeking a higher stated surge-current rating, load-center installation, and a visible replacement indicator for whole-home coverage.

    Not ideal for: Renters, buyers unable to arrange load-center installation, or households expecting this device to replace plug-in strips for sensitive electronics.

    • Voltage:120/240V
    • Maximum current:80 kA
    • Phase:1-phase
    • Wiring:3-wire
    • Recommended use:Indoor
    • Item weight:14.88 ounces
    • Enclosure material:Polycarbonate, rubber
    • Indicator:LED replacement indicator
    Our verdict
    “Choose the HEPD80 if you want the lineup’s higher stated surge rating and an LED status cue, and can arrange load-center installation.”
  4. Drizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 2-Pack

    Drizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 2-Pack

    Best Multi-Panel Type BR Pack

    View Latest Price

    This two-pack makes the most sense when a buyer has two compatible Type BR panels to outfit, or wants a spare device on hand. Each unit carries the same 18 kA rating and uses two branch circuit spaces, so the pack does not offer a higher per-device rating than the single Drizzlen Type BR model. Compared with the Eaton BRNSURGE, the Drizzlen listing gives a surge-current figure, though the Eaton’s supplied data does not provide one for a direct capacity comparison. The key drawback is compatibility: these devices are designed for Type BR panels, and each installation uses panel space. I’d skip this pack for a single-panel home unless a second unit has a clear purpose; it is a quantity choice, not a more powerful alternative to the single device.

    Pros:
    • Includes two panel-mounted surge devices
    • Each device has a stated 18 kA surge-current rating
    • Standard two-pole circuit breaker design
    • Useful for matching installations across two Type BR panels
    Cons:
    • Designed for Type BR panels only
    • Each unit uses two branch circuit spaces
    • The pack does not increase the per-device 18 kA rating

    Best for: Owners or electricians outfitting two compatible Type BR panels, or buyers who specifically need a matching spare.

    Not ideal for: Households with one panel and no planned spare, owners of non-Type BR panels, or anyone seeking more than the listed 18 kA rating per device.

    • Brand:Drizzlen
    • Model:ET003
    • Part number:BRSURGE
    • Surge current:18 kA per device
    • Mounting type:Panel mount
    • Circuit breaker type:Standard
    • Number of poles:2
    • Branch circuit spaces:2 per device
    • Quantity:2
    Our verdict
    “Choose this pack over the single Drizzlen unit only when you have two compatible installations or a clear need for a spare.”
  5. Siemens QSPD2A035B 35 kA Indoor Surge Protective Device

    Siemens QSPD2A035B 35 kA Indoor Surge Protective Device

    Best Compact Plug-In Panel Option

    View Latest Price

    I’d choose the Siemens for a compatible Siemens load center where a compact plug-in device is preferable to the panel-mounted Type BR units. It provides 35 kA per phase, giving buyers a published rating above the 18 kA Drizzlen models but below the 80 kA Square D HEPD80. Its small listed dimensions and green and red mechanical indicators make the device compact and its protection status visible without relying on an LED. That indicator style may feel less immediate to buyers who prefer the Square D’s LED cue, and the Siemens fit restriction is decisive: it is designed to plug into compatible Siemens load centers, not serve as a universal panel device. I’d treat it as a tidy panel-specific option, not a choice for homes with a different panel brand.

    Pros:
    • 35 kA surge-current protection per phase is specified
    • Plug-in format fits compatible Siemens load centers
    • Green and red mechanical indicators show protection status
    • Compact 2-inch by 2.6-inch by 3-inch dimensions
    Cons:
    • Designed for compatible Siemens load centers only
    • Mechanical indicators are not LED indicators
    • Listed rating is below the Square D HEPD80’s 80 kA maximum current

    Best for: Homeowners with a compatible Siemens load center who want a compact plug-in device with a published per-phase rating and visible status indicators.

    Not ideal for: Owners of non-Siemens panels, buyers seeking the higher 80 kA rating listed for the Square D HEPD80, or those who prefer an LED status indicator.

    • Brand:Siemens
    • Model:QSPD2A035B
    • Surge current protection:35 kA per phase
    • Voltage:240 volts
    • Mounting type:Plug-in
    • Number of poles:2
    • Dimensions:2″ D x 2.6″ W x 3″ H
    • Status indicators:Green and red mechanical indicators
    • Warranty:3 years; $10,000 standard warranty
    Our verdict
    “Choose the Siemens when panel compatibility and compact plug-in installation matter more than the Square D HEPD80’s higher listed rating.”
  6. Square D Homeline HOM2175SB SurgeBreaker Surge Protector, 120/240V

    Square D Homeline HOM2175SB SurgeBreaker Surge Protector, 120/240V

    Best for Compatible Homeline Panels

    View Latest Price

    I’d choose the HOM2175SB when the home already has a compatible Square D Homeline load center and the goal is a direct, panel-mounted installation. Its plug-on design and LED status indicator make it more specific and straightforward than the externally mounted ABB THOMESURGEP, but that fit comes with a key limitation: it needs two panel spaces and is not a universal option. The listed 10 kA maximum current also gives less surge-capacity information than ABB’s 36 kA-per-phase rating. The product data says it is intended to help protect service and major appliances, not electronic devices, so I would not treat it as a complete substitute for point-of-use protection. Check panel compatibility and available space before choosing it.

    Pros:
    • Plug-on installation is designed for compatible Homeline load centers
    • LED indicator shows operational status
    • Supports 120/240V single-phase systems
    • UL listed
    Cons:
    • Requires two panel spaces
    • Product information says it is not designed to protect electronic devices
    • The stated 10 kA maximum current may be less compelling to buyers comparing published capacity figures

    Best for: Homeowners with a compatible Homeline load center, two spare panel spaces, and a need for panel-mounted protection for service and major appliances.

    Not ideal for: Owners of other panel brands, homes with no spare breaker spaces, or buyers seeking a stated whole-home electronics-protection claim.

    • Model:HOM2175SB
    • Voltage:120/240V
    • System:Single phase, 3-wire
    • Installation:Plug-on; requires 2 spaces
    • Maximum current:10 kA
    • SCCR:22.5 kA
    • Warranty:3 years
    • Listing:UL Listed; UL 1449 3rd Edition
    Our verdict
    “Choose the HOM2175SB for a compatible Homeline panel when its plug-on fit matters more than universal compatibility or a higher stated surge rating.”
  7. Furniqro FHSPD36S Whole-House Surge Protector, 36,000 A, 120/240 V

    Furniqro FHSPD36S Whole-House Surge Protector, 36,000 A, 120/240 V

    Best Compact Indoor/Outdoor Option

    View Latest Price

    The FHSPD36S is a compact wall-mounted choice for buyers who want an installation option that is not tied to one panel brand. Its stated 120/240V, 60 Hz compatibility and indoor-or-outdoor rating make it more flexible in placement than the Homeline-specific Square D HOM2175SB. That flexibility does not remove the need for professional installation: this device connects to a home’s electrical system, and the product information recommends an electrician familiar with surge protectors. The listed 36,000 A rating is useful as a comparison point, but the supplied specifications do not give further protection details such as a warranty or a more specific rating breakdown. I’d favor it for fit and mounting flexibility, not for buyers who need extensive documentation.

    Pros:
    • Designed for 120/240V, 60 Hz systems
    • Rated for indoor or outdoor installation
    • Compact wall-mount format with LED status indicators
    • Described as compatible with load centers and breakers from all brands
    Cons:
    • No warranty is listed
    • Installation should be handled by an electrician familiar with surge protectors
    • Published specifications provide limited detail beyond the stated 36,000 A rating

    Best for: Homeowners seeking a compact, wall-mounted protector for a 120/240V home who need indoor or outdoor placement and do not have a brand-specific panel requirement.

    Not ideal for: DIY installers or buyers who want a listed warranty and detailed protection specifications before selecting a whole-house device.

    • Model:FHSPD36S
    • System compatibility:120/240V, 60 Hz
    • Mounting:Wall mount
    • Installation location:Indoor or outdoor
    • Poles:1
    • Status indicator:LED
    • Warranty:None listed
    Our verdict
    “Pick the FHSPD36S when flexible wall placement and broad panel compatibility matter more than a listed warranty or fuller technical documentation.”
  8. AQOVOR Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-Pack

    AQOVOR Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-Pack

    Best Multi-Panel Type BR Pack

    View Latest Price

    The AQOVOR pack is the lineup’s clearest choice for buyers who need devices for more than one compatible panel or want spares on hand. Each Type BR unit is designed for 120/240V panels, has an 18 kA surge current rating, and connects by pigtail while using two branch-circuit spaces. That panel-specific format is less flexible than the externally mounted ABB THOMESURGEP, which is described as fitting load centers from any brand and does not occupy breaker spaces. The three-device pack only makes sense if the home or project can use multiple BR-compatible units; otherwise, the extra devices add little value. I’d also verify panel compatibility before purchase, since this model is specifically for Type BR panels.

    Pros:
    • Three devices are included for multiple installations or spares
    • 18 kA surge current rating
    • Designed for 120/240V panels
    • Pigtail connection is specified
    Cons:
    • Compatible only with Type BR panels
    • Each device uses two branch-circuit spaces
    • A three-pack is unnecessary for buyers protecting just one panel

    Best for: Owners, property managers, or electricians handling multiple homes or panels that specifically accept Type BR surge devices.

    Not ideal for: Homeowners with a non-BR panel, only one installation to complete, or limited spare panel capacity.

    • Model:BRLSP
    • Pack count:3
    • Voltage:120/240V
    • Poles:2
    • Installation:Panel mount, pigtail connection
    • Panel space:2 branch-circuit spaces per device
    • Warranty:1 year
    Our verdict
    “Choose this pack when you have multiple Type BR panels to protect; for one panel or broader panel compatibility, the ABB THOMESURGEP is a more flexible alternative.”
  9. Gloyatin HSPD-25 Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1 SPD, 120/240 VAC

    Gloyatin HSPD-25 Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1 SPD, 120/240 VAC

    Best for External Type 1 Mounting

    View Latest Price

    The HSPD-25 suits buyers who want a Type 1 device mounted outside the panel rather than a breaker-style product that takes up branch-circuit spaces. Its wall-mount design, two-pole configuration, and indoor/outdoor rating offer placement flexibility similar to the ABB THOMESURGEP. ABB has a clearly stated 36 kA per-phase capacity, while Gloyatin’s supplied listing gives a less straightforward capacity range of up to 25/50/80 kA; I would confirm which rating applies to this specific unit before comparing protection levels. The main drawback is limited installation guidance in the product information, which makes an electrician’s review especially important. This is a candidate for buyers prioritizing external mounting, not those who need clear, detailed specifications before choosing.

    Pros:
    • Type 1 SPD design
    • Wall-mounted format does not use listed branch-circuit spaces
    • Rated for indoor or outdoor installation
    • Two-pole configuration for 120/240V systems
    Cons:
    • The listed capacity range of 25/50/80 kA does not identify which rating applies
    • Installation details are limited in the supplied information
    • No warranty is listed

    Best for: Homeowners seeking a wall-mounted Type 1 SPD for a 120/240V system, with indoor or outdoor placement and no need to reserve panel breaker spaces.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need clearly defined surge-capacity figures or detailed installation instructions before selecting a device.

    • Model:HSPD-25
    • Device type:Type 1 surge protective device
    • Voltage:120/240 VAC
    • Surge capacity:Listed as up to 25/50/80 kA
    • Poles:2
    • Mounting:Wall mount
    • Installation location:Indoor or outdoor
    • Included components:HSPD
    Our verdict
    “Consider the HSPD-25 for external Type 1 mounting, but favor the ABB THOMESURGEP if clearly specified surge capacity and certification details are priorities.”
  10. ABB THOMESURGEP Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1 SPD, NEMA 3R

    ABB THOMESURGEP Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1 SPD, NEMA 3R

    Best Documented Universal-Mount Pick

    View Latest Price

    The ABB THOMESURGEP earns its place through a combination of broad panel compatibility and more complete published specifications than the Furniqro FHSPD36S or Gloyatin HSPD-25. Its external wall mount avoids using breaker spaces, while the 36 kA-per-phase rating, LED indicator, and stated UL listing give buyers clearer information for comparing a whole-house installation. ABB also specifies support for 120/240V and 120/208V AC systems and says it meets NEC 2023 Article 230.67 requirements. The tradeoff is that external mounting and a pigtail connection call for careful installation planning rather than a simple plug-on fit like the Square D HOM2175SB. Its US-system focus also makes it unsuitable as a casual choice for electrical systems elsewhere.

    Pros:
    • 36 kA surge protection capacity per phase
    • External mounting does not occupy breaker spaces
    • Compatible with PowerMark PRO and load centers from any brand
    • LED indicator, UL listing, and ANSI certification are specified
    Cons:
    • External mounting and pigtail wiring require installation planning
    • Designed for US electrical systems and may need an adapter or converter elsewhere
    • Its 10 kA nominal discharge current is a separate specification buyers should not confuse with the 36 kA-per-phase capacity

    Best for: Homeowners and electricians seeking an externally mounted Type 1 SPD with stated cross-brand load-center compatibility and detailed electrical specifications.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need a plug-on device, want to avoid external wiring work, or are installing outside the stated US electrical systems.

    • Model:THOMESURGEP
    • Device type:Type 1 surge protective device
    • Protection capacity:36 kA per phase
    • Nominal discharge current:10 kA
    • Voltage:120/240V and 120/208V AC
    • Frequency:50–60 Hz
    • Mounting and connection:External wall mount; pigtail
    • Certifications:UL listed; ANSI certified
    Our verdict
    “Choose the ABB THOMESURGEP for a well-documented, externally mounted Type 1 device with broad panel compatibility and no breaker-space requirement.”
  11. Eaton CHSPT2SURGE Type 2 Whole-Home Surge Protector

    Eaton CHSPT2SURGE Type 2 Whole-Home Surge Protector

    Best for Flexible Panel Placement

    View Latest Price

    The Eaton CHSPT2SURGE is a strong fit when you need a Type 2 device that can connect to load centers from different manufacturers. Its NEMA 4 enclosure supports outdoor mounting, giving it more placement flexibility than the indoor-only Siemens QSPD2A035B. The 120/240 VAC rating suits common single-phase residential service, while LED status indicators provide a quick visual check of protection status.

    Its listed 22 kA surge capacity is below the Gloyatin HSPD-80’s stated capacity, so buyers prioritizing that headline figure may prefer the Gloyatin. The tradeoff here is a defined installation requirement: it connects through a dedicated circuit breaker, and installation should follow NEC guidelines. I’d favor Eaton when panel compatibility and weather-resistant mounting matter more than maximizing the stated surge capacity.

    Pros:
    • Compatible with load centers from any manufacturer
    • NEMA 4 enclosure supports outdoor mounting
    • LED indicators show device status
    • Designed for common 120/240 VAC single-phase service
    Cons:
    • Requires connection through a dedicated circuit breaker
    • Installation must follow NEC guidelines
    • Its listed 22 kA surge capacity is lower than the Gloyatin HSPD-80’s stated 80 kA

    Best for: Homeowners with a compatible 120/240 VAC system who want a brand-flexible Type 2 protector and may need an outdoor mounting option.

    Not ideal for: DIY buyers seeking a plug-in device or anyone unable to arrange installation through a dedicated breaker in line with NEC guidelines.

    • Type:Type 2 surge protector
    • Voltage:120/240 VAC
    • Phase:Single-phase
    • Surge current capacity:22 kA
    • Surge current capacity per phase:36 kA
    • Nominal discharge current:5 kA
    • Enclosure:NEMA 4
    • Mounting:Wall mount
    Our verdict
    “Choose the Eaton if flexible panel compatibility and outdoor mounting matter more to you than a higher stated surge-capacity figure.”
  12. Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-Pack

    Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-Pack

    Best Value for BR Panel Replacements

    View Latest Price

    This Treasea Type BR three-pack suits buyers who specifically need multiple devices for compatible BR panels. Each protector uses two branch-circuit spaces, has an 18 kA surge rating, and includes a light indicator. The three-unit bundle is its clearest distinction from the single Eaton CHSPT2SURGE: it can support several panel projects, but it is not a universal load-center option based on the supplied product details.

    The panel-mounted format keeps protection integrated with the electrical panel, though the two-space requirement can be a real constraint in a crowded load center. Its one-year warranty is also a limited assurance compared with what buyers may want for a device protecting home circuits. I’d choose it for a BR-panel replacement need, not as a general-purpose whole-home option when panel compatibility or documented enclosure details are uncertain.

    Pros:
    • Three devices included for multiple compatible panel projects
    • 18 kA surge protection rating
    • Light indicator provides a visible status cue
    • Designed for 120/240-volt systems
    Cons:
    • Uses two branch-circuit spaces per device
    • Product details do not establish compatibility with load centers beyond the BR format
    • Warranty is limited to one year

    Best for: Homeowners or electricians handling several compatible BR-panel installations who can spare two branch-circuit spaces per device.

    Not ideal for: Owners of non-BR panels, or anyone with a crowded panel who cannot allocate two branch-circuit spaces for each unit.

    • Brand:Treasea
    • Model:BRSURGE
    • Pack count:3
    • Voltage:120/240 volts
    • Branch-circuit spaces:2
    • Status indicator:Light indicator
    • Warranty:1 year
    Our verdict
    “Pick this three-pack for multiple BR-panel jobs when panel space is available; choose a brand-flexible option such as the Eaton for broader stated compatibility.”
  13. Gloyatin HSPD-80 Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1, 120/240 VAC

    Gloyatin HSPD-80 Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1, 120/240 VAC

    Best for High Stated Surge Capacity

    View Latest Price

    The Gloyatin HSPD-80 is the capacity-focused choice in this group, with a stated rating of up to 80 kA and a Type 1 design for 120/240 VAC service. It also supports indoor or outdoor mounting and claims compatibility with circuit breakers from any brand. Compared with the Eaton CHSPT2SURGE, it offers a higher stated capacity and a different protection type, but its product information does not include Eaton’s NEMA 4 enclosure rating or LED status indicators.

    The most consequential drawback is the absence of a warranty, which leaves less recourse if the device fails. The supplied details also do not specify an enclosure rating or status indicator. I’d consider it for buyers prioritizing the stated capacity and flexible placement, but I would favor a model with clearer protection-status and warranty information when those details are a priority.

    Pros:
    • Stated surge capacity of up to 80 kA
    • Type 1 device for 120/240 VAC systems
    • Compatible with circuit breakers from any brand
    • Designed for indoor or outdoor installation
    Cons:
    • No warranty is included
    • Product details do not specify an enclosure rating
    • No status indicator is listed

    Best for: Homeowners seeking a Type 1 device with a high stated surge capacity and indoor-or-outdoor installation flexibility.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who require a stated warranty, a specified enclosure rating, or an LED status indicator before choosing a panel protection device.

    • Type:Type 1 surge protective device
    • Voltage:120/240 VAC
    • Surge capacity:Up to 80 kA
    • Circuit breaker compatibility:Standard breakers; compatible with any brand per product description
    • Poles:2
    • Mounting:Wall mount
    • Installation:Indoor or outdoor
    • Warranty:None
    Our verdict
    “Choose the Gloyatin when its stated 80 kA capacity and flexible installation matter most, but skip it if warranty coverage is a deciding factor.”
  14. Drizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-Pack

    Drizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-Pack

    Best Panel-Mounted Three-Pack

    View Latest Price

    The Drizzlen ET003 three-pack is aimed at buyers who want multiple panel-mounted surge devices for compatible Type BR installations. Its stated 18 kA surge current rating matches the Treasea BRSURGE three-pack, and both products require two branch-circuit spaces. The Drizzlen listing adds a two-pole configuration and panel-mount details, but does not provide the Treasea’s 120/240-volt rating, status light, or one-year warranty in the supplied specifications.

    That missing information makes the Drizzlen harder to evaluate as a whole-house protector beyond its stated panel format and surge rating. The pack quantity is useful for several projects, yet it does not make the devices universal replacements for other panel types. I’d shortlist it when the panel fit is confirmed and three units are needed; for a buyer who wants clearer operating and status details, the Treasea is the more documented alternative.

    Pros:
    • Three devices supplied in one pack
    • Stated 18 kA surge current rating
    • Panel-mount design integrates with the electrical panel
    • Two-pole configuration is specified
    Cons:
    • Each device uses two branch-circuit spaces
    • Supplied specifications do not state voltage or a status indicator
    • Supplied specifications do not state a warranty

    Best for: Electricians or homeowners with confirmed compatible BR panels who need three panel-mounted devices and can spare two spaces per unit.

    Not ideal for: Buyers needing a single device, broad panel compatibility, or documented voltage and status-indicator details before purchase.

    • Brand:Drizzlen
    • Model:ET003
    • Part number:BRSURGE
    • Pack quantity:3
    • Branch-circuit spaces:2
    • Circuit breaker type:Standard
    • Mounting:Panel mount
    • Poles:2
    Our verdict
    “Choose the Drizzlen three-pack for confirmed compatible panel work, but prefer the Treasea pack if its stated voltage and status light are needed.”
  15. Furniqro FHSPD108S Whole-Home Surge Protector, 108,000 A, 120/240V

    Furniqro FHSPD108S Whole-Home Surge Protector, 108,000 A, 120/240V

    Best for Compact High-Capacity Installation

    View Latest Price

    The Furniqro FHSPD108S pairs a compact form with a stated 108,000 A maximum current, the largest figure in this five-product group. Its compatibility with load centers and circuit breakers from any brand makes it more flexible on paper than the panel-specific Treasea and Drizzlen BR devices. The commercial-grade enclosure and indoor-or-outdoor installation claim also give it broader placement options than the indoor-focused Siemens QSPD2A035B elsewhere in the roundup.

    That headline capacity should not be treated as a direct measure of overall protection without comparable test and rating details. The product lists an LED indicator, but installation and troubleshooting may require an electrician familiar with surge-protector procedures. Its listed Type A plug and one outlet also warrant checking against the intended hardwired setup before purchase. I’d favor it for buyers who want a compact, broadly compatible unit and can arrange qualified installation.

    Pros:
    • Stated maximum current of 108,000 A
    • Compatible with load centers and breakers from any brand
    • Commercial-grade enclosure is listed for indoor or outdoor installation
    • LED indicators show protection status
    Cons:
    • Installation and troubleshooting may require an electrician familiar with surge-protector protocols
    • The stated maximum current is not directly comparable to products using different rating details
    • Listed Type A plug and one outlet should be checked against the intended installation

    Best for: Homeowners seeking a compact device with a high stated current capacity, broad load-center compatibility, and an electrician available for installation.

    Not ideal for: DIY buyers expecting a straightforward plug-in whole-panel installation, or anyone who wants directly comparable surge ratings and clearly documented connection details.

    • Model:FHSPD108S
    • Maximum current:108,000 A
    • Voltage:120/240 V
    • Frequency:60 Hz
    • Installation:Indoor or outdoor
    • Enclosure:Commercial-grade
    • Status indicators:LED
    • Item weight:0.46 kg
    • Outlets and plug type:1 outlet; Type A
    Our verdict
    “Consider the Furniqro for a compact, broadly compatible installation when an electrician can verify its connection method and rating details.”
whole house surge protectors
What makes a great whole house surge protector
1
Understanding Type 1 vs Type 2 SPDs
The National Electrical Code distinguishes between Type 1 and Type 2 Surge Protective Devices (SPDs), and this distinction dictate
2
Panel Compatibility and Breaker Slots
Electrical panels are not universal, and surge protectors must match the specific brand and series of your panel.
3
The Reality of kA Ratings and Joules
Manufacturers often compete on surge current ratings, measured in kiloamps (kA), but higher numbers do not automatically translate
4
Grounding Requirements for Effective Protection
A surge protector is only as good as the ground path it uses to divert excess energy.
How to choose your whole house surge protector
1
How we picked
I evaluated these devices based on three core pillars: safety certification , compatibility , and surge capacity .
2
Understanding Type 1 vs Type 2 SPDs
The National Electrical Code distinguishes between Type 1 and Type 2 Surge Protective Devices (SPDs), and this distincti
3
Panel Compatibility and Breaker Slots
Electrical panels are not universal, and surge protectors must match the specific brand and series of your panel.
4
The Reality of kA Ratings and Joules
Manufacturers often compete on surge current ratings, measured in kiloamps (kA), but higher numbers do not automatically
5
Grounding Requirements for Effective Protection
A surge protector is only as good as the ground path it uses to divert excess energy.
Vetted whole house surge protectors ·
The best whole house surge protectors, compared
★ Winner Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Br
Best for a Basic Type BR Panel Upgrade
15compared

How We Picked

I evaluated these devices based on three core pillars: safety certification, compatibility, and surge capacity. First, I filtered out products lacking clear UL 1449 listings or those claiming compatibility with panels they were not tested for, as this is a non-negotiable safety standard. Next, I compared surge current ratings (kA) not just as raw numbers, but in the context of Type 1 versus Type 2 classification, recognizing that Type 1 devices handle direct lightning strikes while Type 2 manages residual surges. Finally, I assessed the physical footprint and installation requirements, weighing the convenience of breaker-slot designs against the robust protection of dedicated panel-mounted units. This ranking prioritizes devices that offer verified safety and realistic performance over marketing hype.

Which whole house surge protector fits you?
The everyday user
All-round, reliable
The enthusiast
Premium & high-performance
The gift-giver
Looks & craftsmanship

Factors to Consider When Choosing Whole House Surge Protectors

Choosing a whole house surge protector isn’t just about picking the highest number; it involves understanding your home’s electrical architecture. Here are the critical factors that should drive your decision.

Understanding Type 1 vs Type 2 SPDs

The National Electrical Code distinguishes between Type 1 and Type 2 Surge Protective Devices (SPDs), and this distinction dictates where the device belongs in your electrical system. Type 1 SPDs are designed to be installed at the service entrance or meter base, capable of handling direct lightning strikes or surges from utility lines before they enter your home. Type 2 SPDs, which are more common in residential retrofits, install within the electrical panel and handle surges that have already passed through the utility transformer. If your home has overhead service lines, a Type 1 unit like the ABB THOMESURGEP is often required or highly recommended by local codes. Urban homes with underground service typically benefit more from the cost-effective protection of a Type 2 unit. Ignoring this classification can leave your home vulnerable to the very surges you are trying to stop.

Panel Compatibility and Breaker Slots

Electrical panels are not universal, and surge protectors must match the specific brand and series of your panel. Square D Homeline, QO, Eaton BR, CH, and Siemens QP panels all require their specific proprietary breaker designs. A common mistake is buying a generic ‘universal’ surge protector that claims to fit multiple brands; these often lack the precise mechanical fit needed to maintain a secure connection to the bus bar. Breaker-slot SPDs like the Square D HOM2175SB save space and integrate directly into the circuit, whereas panel-mounted units require additional internal space and wiring. If your panel is already full, a breaker-slot model might be the only viable option, but you must ensure it is UL-listed for your exact panel series to pass inspection.

The Reality of kA Ratings and Joules

Manufacturers often compete on surge current ratings, measured in kiloamps (kA), but higher numbers do not automatically translate to better protection for your sensitive electronics. A 108 kA rating, as seen on the Furniqro FHSPD108S, indicates the device can withstand a massive surge without failing, but it doesn’t necessarily mean it clamps voltage lower or faster than a 40 kA unit. The more important metric for protecting electronics is the Clamping Voltage, which is the voltage level at which the SPD activates to shunt excess energy to ground. A lower clamping voltage (e.g., 400V vs. 500V) protects your devices better, even if the total kA rating is lower. Don’t overpay for extreme kA ratings if the clamping voltage is mediocre.

Grounding Requirements for Effective Protection

A surge protector is only as good as the ground path it uses to divert excess energy. If your home has poor grounding, high resistance, or missing ground rods, even the best surge protector cannot safely dissipate a surge. In fact, a faulty ground can cause the surge to arc to nearby metal pipes or appliances, creating a fire hazard. Before installing a whole house SPD, verify your ground resistance is below 5 ohms. If you live in an older home, you might need an electrician to upgrade the grounding system before installing a device like the Eaton CHSPT2SURGE. Installing a surge protector on a bad ground is like putting a lock on a door with no frame.

DIY vs Professional Installation Risks

While some surge protectors are marketed as ‘easy install,’ working inside an electrical panel involves handling live main service wires, which can be lethal. Hard-wired panel units require disconnecting the main breaker and handling high-amperage lugs, a task strictly reserved for licensed electricians in most jurisdictions. Breaker-slot models are slightly less complex but still require removing the panel cover and working near live bus bars. Attempting a DIY installation can void your homeowner’s insurance and violate local electrical codes. The cost of a professional installation (typically $200-$500) is a small price compared to the risk of electrocution or electrical fire. Always check local permit requirements before starting the job.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need a whole house surge protector if I already use power strips?

Yes, because they protect against different threats. Power strips are point-of-use devices that protect specific electronics from surges that have already entered the home’s wiring. A whole house surge protector acts as the first line of defense, diverting massive surges from the utility line at the panel before they reach any circuits. Without a whole house unit, a direct lightning strike or utility spike can overwhelm your power strips instantly, destroying the electronics plugged into them. The whole house unit protects hard-wired appliances like HVAC systems, water heaters, and lighting fixtures, which power strips cannot reach.

Can I install a whole house surge protector in any electrical panel?

No, compatibility is strictly brand-specific. You must match the surge protector to your panel’s manufacturer (Square D, Eaton, Siemens, etc.) and series (Homeline, QO, BR, CH, QP). Using a breaker that is not UL-listed for your specific panel can cause overheating, poor contact, and fire hazards. For example, a Square D HEPD80 will not fit correctly in an Eaton BR panel, and forcing it is dangerous. If your panel is an obscure or discontinued brand, you may need a universal hard-wired unit or a panel upgrade.

How long do whole house surge protectors last?

The lifespan depends on the frequency and severity of surges your home experiences. Most units have a status indicator light; if it turns off or changes color, the device has absorbed its capacity and needs replacement. In areas with frequent storms, you might replace a unit every 3-5 years, while in stable urban grids, it could last 10+ years. Higher kA ratings generally offer a longer ‘surge life’ because they have more metal oxide varistors (MOVs) to absorb energy. Regularly checking the indicator light is the only way to know if it is still functional.

Is a 40 kA surge protector enough for my home?

For most residential homes with standard utility service, 40 kA is sufficient and often the industry standard recommendation. It provides robust protection against typical utility surges and indirect lightning strikes. You only need to upgrade to 80 kA or higher if you live in a high-lightning area, have long overhead service lines, or operate sensitive industrial-grade equipment at home. Paying for 108 kA protection in a low-risk suburban home is usually unnecessary expense. Match the rating to your local risk profile, not just the highest number available.

Will a whole house surge protector save me money on insurance?

Some insurance providers offer discounts if you install a certified whole house surge protector, but this is not universal. You must ask your agent specifically about ‘surge protection credits’ or ‘lightning protection discounts.’ To qualify, the device usually needs to be UL 1449 listed and professionally installed with proof of work. While the discount might be small, the potential savings from avoiding a major electrical repair claim far outweighs the premium reduction. The primary value is risk mitigation, not insurance savings.

Conclusion

Selecting the right whole house surge protector depends on your panel type, local grid stability, and budget. For most homeowners, the Square D HEPD80 represents the best overall balance of certified safety, high 80 kA capacity, and ease of installation for Square D panels. If you have an Eaton CH panel, the Eaton CHSPT2SURGE is the direct equivalent and best choice for that ecosystem. For those in high-risk lightning areas needing maximum capacity, the Furniqro FHSPD108S offers extreme surge handling, though it requires professional installation and ample panel space. Beginners or those with limited panel space should consider breaker-slot models like the Square D HOM2175SB, which integrate seamlessly without taking up extra room. Avoid third-party unverified breakers like Drizzlen or AQOVOR due to significant safety and insurance liabilities. Ultimately, prioritize UL-listed compatibility with your specific panel brand over raw kA numbers to ensure your home is truly protected.

FALL

Fall Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

9 Best Compliant Fuel Cans for Generators That Meet Safety Standards

Discover the best compliant fuel cans for generators in 2026. Our top picks include safe, durable options suitable for gasoline and diesel. Read more!

9 Best Solar-Powered Backup Generators in 2026

Discover the top solar-powered backup generators of 2026. Find the best options for home backup, camping, and emergencies with our expert guide.

14 Best Portable EVSE Chargers for Travel in 2026: Compact, Reliable, and Easy to Use

Discover the top portable EVSE options for travel in 2026. Find the best overall, budget-friendly, and premium picks for your electric vehicle needs.

9 Best Rack Mount UPS Devices for Your Home Lab in 2026

Discover the top rack mount UPS options for home labs in 2026. Find the best overall, value, premium, and beginner-friendly choices in this detailed guide.