TL;DR
Get backup power and energy gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Mova has introduced the LumeGret S5000, a residential energy storage system that combines solar management, expandable batteries and controls for optional EV charging. The manufacturer lists support for up to 4.8 kW of solar input and a paired charger rated up to 7 kW, but has not provided pricing or availability details.
Chinese storage provider Mova has introduced the LumeGret S5000, a residential energy storage system designed to coordinate rooftop solar, household electricity use, battery storage and electric-vehicle charging. The system supports up to 4.8 kW of solar input and can be paired with the company’s optional 7 kW LumeGret E7000 charger, while price and availability details remain undisclosed.
The S5000 combines an inverter with four maximum power point trackers (MPPTs), which manage the system’s solar inputs. Mova specifies a combined photovoltaic input of up to 4.8 kW, with an operating voltage range of 13 to 48 volts, a maximum input voltage of 60 volts and a startup voltage of 15 volts. These are manufacturer specifications; the supplied product information does not detail installation requirements or expected output under particular household conditions.
For storage, the system can be paired with Mova’s LumeGret B3000G and B5000G lithium iron phosphate modules, rated at 3 kWh and 5 kWh. Mova says configurations can expand to 15 kWh or 25 kWh. The company lists a minimum 10,000-cycle rating under specified test conditions, self-heating and aerosol fire-extinguishing functions, an operating range of minus 20 to 55 degrees Celsius, and IP65 protection. It also specifies a 10-year warranty and a 20-year design lifespan; the supplied information does not define the conditions attached to those figures.
The S5000 has a default grid-connected AC output of 800 watts, configurable up to 3 kW, and up to 3 kW of off-grid output. Its bypass rating is 3.6 kW. The optional LumeGret E7000 EV charger is rated for charging at up to 7 kW when sufficient power is available. Mova lists up to 3 kW of EV charging output in off-grid operation and a bypass capacity of up to 6.6 kW in grid-connected operation.
Coordinating Home Energy and EV Charging
The product’s main stated distinction is the effort to manage solar generation, home storage and vehicle charging together, rather than treating the EV charger as a separate appliance. For households with solar panels and an electric car, charging can be timed around available generation, stored power and electricity prices. Whether that coordination lowers a particular household’s bills will depend on its tariff, solar output, driving and charging needs, and system configuration.
Through the Movahome app, users can set charging schedules, power levels and energy priorities, choosing manual or automated modes. Mova says its smart mode uses price information and solar generation, and can draw on pricing data from about 860 electricity providers. Users can set price thresholds to pause charging during high-price periods or favor lower-price periods; the company also says the system supports charging during negative-price periods. A solar-surplus feature can start EV charging when excess photovoltaic power exceeds 500 watts, according to Mova.
Those controls could matter to customers seeking to use more of their own solar electricity or shift charging away from expensive periods. But the product announcement does not provide independent performance results, savings estimates or a comparison with other systems. The listed features describe manufacturer capabilities, not a guarantee of a specific financial or energy benefit.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Battery Sizes and Output Ratings
The S5000’s storage capacity depends on which compatible battery modules are included. Mova lists the B3000G at 3 kWh and the B5000G at 5 kWh, with larger configurations described as expandable to 15 kWh and 25 kWh. The supplied information does not specify the exact module combinations for each maximum configuration, nor whether the base S5000 package includes a battery.
The system’s rated power figures also differ by operating mode. Its default grid-connected AC output is 800 W, with a configurable maximum of 3 kW; its off-grid output is listed at up to 3 kW. The separate 7 kW figure applies to the compatible E7000 charger under sufficient-power conditions, not to the S5000’s stated off-grid EV output. Mova lists that output at up to 3 kW. The distinction matters when comparing advertised charging capacity with what the system can supply during an outage.
Mova gives the S5000’s dimensions as 480 × 290 × 168.4 mm and its weight as 14.8 kg. It uses natural cooling and supports Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and RS485 communications. Optional accessories listed by the company include smart meters, EV chargers and smart plugs.
““up to 4.8 kW” of combined solar input”
— Mova, in the product specifications
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Pricing and Launch Details Pending
Mova has not disclosed pricing or commercial availability in the supplied product information. It is also unclear which markets will receive the system, when customers can order it, or what equipment is included in a standard package.
The announcement does not specify the exact battery configurations behind the stated 15 kWh and 25 kWh expansion limits, installation costs, or any regional requirements for connecting the equipment. It also does not provide independent tests of the cycle-life, warranty or lifespan claims, or evidence of savings from the app’s price-based charging. The company’s references to pricing data from about 860 providers do not identify supported regions or explain how often tariff information is updated.
Actual charging performance will depend on available power and operating mode: Mova lists up to 7 kW for the optional charger when sufficient power is available, but lower limits for off-grid charging and grid-connected bypass. The supplied information does not explain how the system allocates power when household demand, solar output and vehicle charging overlap.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Awaiting Sales and Market Information
The next confirmed milestone is not stated: Mova has yet to publish a sales date or price in the supplied announcement. Buyers will need further company information on market availability, package contents and supported configurations to compare the system’s cost and capacity with alternatives.
Further product documentation could clarify the battery expansion combinations, charging behavior across grid-connected and off-grid modes, and the regional availability of electricity-price integration. Until those details are released, the published ratings establish the system’s stated capabilities but do not show its installed cost, independent performance or likely savings for a given home.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
What is the Mova LumeGret S5000?
It is a residential energy storage system that Mova says combines solar management, expandable battery storage and household energy control. It can also be paired with the company’s optional EV charger.
How much solar input does the system support?
Mova specifies up to 4.8 kW of combined solar input through an inverter with four MPPTs. Actual generation depends on the solar installation and operating conditions.
What battery capacity is available?
The compatible B3000G and B5000G modules are rated at 3 kWh and 5 kWh. Mova says configurations can expand to 15 kWh or 25 kWh, but the supplied information does not state the exact module combinations.
Can the S5000 charge an electric vehicle during an outage?
Mova lists up to 3 kW of EV charging output in off-grid operation when paired with its E7000 charger. The charger’s up-to-7 kW rating applies when sufficient power is available; the announcement does not establish that rate for outage operation.
When will the system be available, and what will it cost?
Pricing and commercial availability have not been disclosed in the supplied product information. Mova has not provided a sales date or market list in that material.
Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
